Favor

…reigns on my life! Simple lyrics taken from a song written by Pastor John P. Kee, and sung by LeJuene Thompson, are now blessing my life so immensely. People who know me are aware that I am not overly emotional, nor am I one known to easily cry! Yet, every time I hear this song and even as I sit to write this blog, I become overwhelmed with feelings of gratefulness. I realize that people may not understand why this particular subject brings me joy, but let me see if I can explain this to you!

Often people who know my story (I promise one day I will share), automatically assume that I have never done things that I regret. Yet, when I look back at the times when I almost let go; what if he hadn’t taken NO for an answer! When I reminisce on one October night when a man didn’t stop at the red light, and completely totaled my car. I remember hearing the witness say, “I’ve already called the police because I knew that the person in this car was dead.” When I consider all the things I do that I know I should not do, and all the things I say that tear others down. When I think about all the times that I caved to the pressures of others even when I knew I should have been the example, and yet God has never allowed my life to be fodder for the evening news! I recognize the awesome Favor of God that continues to rule over my life.

In light of the things that I have said, and even some of the things that I could not say I recognize that some may see this as unfair. Actually, I totally agree with you! I do not know why God has chosen my life to be favored, yet I am so thankful! It is for this reason that I try now, in all I say or do, to honor God! You can call me deep, if you so desire, but I know that it was God who rescued me out of that horrible pit.

So, I echo the words of this song: “When my life rejected destiny your favor came and rescued me! I thank God always for FAVOR!

2 thoughts on “Favor”

  1. I love this blog Minister Diandra Darby!!! While reading it I began to see this same favor resting over my life like a cloud on a scorching hot day, protecting me from the harmful rays of the beautiful sun. Sometimes I wonder why the Lord would see fit to keep me when I have left him hanging on several occasions! But despite how I see it; there is something beyond what I can see and comprehend. So, I must trust that God of this favor is able to keep me when the world sees me as a vessel not worth keeping.

Leave a Reply

